Lord’s Day One

Every Sunday, we will be going through one of the fifty-two Lord’s Days of the Heidelberg Catechism. Written in the year 1563, the Heidelberg still remains a popular confession of faith in many churches to this day. You can find the full text here.

Lord’s Day One

Question 1: What is your only comfort in life and death?

Answer: That I am not my own,1 but belong with body and soul, both in life and in death,2 to my faithful Savior Jesus Christ.3 He has fully paid for all my sins with His precious blood,4 and has set me free from all the power of the devil.5 He also preserves me in such a way6 that without the will of my heavenly Father not a hair can fall from my head;7 indeed, all things must work together for my salvation.8 Therefore, by His Holy Spirit He also assures me of eternal life9 and makes me heartily willing and ready from now on to live for Him.10

  1. 1 Cor 6:19, 20
  2. Rom 14:7-9
  3. 1 Cor 3:23; Tit 2:14
  4. 1 Pet 1:18, 19; 1 Jn 1:7; 2:2
  5. Jn 8:34-36; Heb 2:14, 15; 1 Jn 3:8
  6. Jn 6:39, 40; 10:27-30; 2 Thess 3:3; 1 Pet 1:5
  7. Mt 10:29-31; Lk 21:16-18
  8. Rom 8:28
  9. Rom 8:15, 16; 2 Cor 1:21, 22; 5:5; Eph 1:13, 14
  10. Rom 8:14

Question 2: What do you need to know in order to live and die in the joy of this comfort?

Answer: Three things:
first, how great my sin and misery are;1
second, how I am delivered from all my sins and misery;2
third, how I am to be thankful to God for such deliverance.3

  1. Rom. 3:9-10; 1 John 1:10
  2. John 17:3; Acts 4:12; 10:43
  3. Matt. 5:16; Rom. 6:13; Eph. 5:8-10; 2 Tim. 2:15; 1 Pet. 2:9-10

The questions that begin the Heidelberg are very simple, yet are of the utmost importance. How do I have joy? How do I have rest? How do I have hope? How do I know that I’m OK? These are the questions that the whole world is seeking to answer. While believers in Jesus Christ have found the answers to these questions, non-believers are left to try to find a substitute for the real thing, a temporary fix for an eternal problem. Don’t get me wrong, some of these temporary fixes are enjoyable. But as time passes, we find that they were not solutions…they were merely distractions. Only One can make us whole. Only One can bring us true joy, true peace, true comfort. So in my life, and in my death, I can rest in the knowledge that I am not my own. I know that I belong to the Christ who suffered, bled, and died for me. And I know that when I draw my last breath here, I’ll take my next breath with Him. That is my only comfort, because nothing else in this life will do.

“For this reason, even though I suffer as I do, I am not ashamed; for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that He is able to guard what I have entrusted to Him for that day.” – 2 Timothy 1:12
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

