Knowing Christ in Psalm 5 (pt. 2 of 4)

Good evening, thought I’d shake things up a bit and post an evening devotional. I’ve been working on memorizing the first 3 verses. I love how stark they are:

Give ear to my words, O LORD; consider my groaning.

Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to You do I pray.

O LORD, in the morning You hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice (order my prayer) to You and watch.

Who hears you when you cry? God. Only God can give ear.

What is hell? Hell is no ear.

But God… truly hears. He does not merely hear, He considers your groaning.

God groans with you.

For those who are in Christ, His Spirit intercedes with groanings too deep for words… the Spirit intercedes for the saints, according to the will of God (Romans 8:26-27).

The very Spirit of Christ prays with you, deeper than you, and according to God’s will. And Romans 8 goes on to assure us that all things work together for good for those who are called according to His purpose… those whom He foreknew…

God gives attention to the sound of your cry. Your Father knows what your cry sounds like. He hears the pauses and inflection of your voice. He knows the cadence of your crying, how the tears burn and the heart sinks.

Our Lord Jesus sweat drops of blood in His prayer in the Garden of Gethsemane; He knows how you feel, dear saint. He foreknew you and prayed for you before He went to that garden (John 17:20), and before He died for you on the cross.

Is Jesus your King and your God? Is His Spirit praying for you according to the will of God?

Go to sleep in prayer.

Wake and pray.

Know Christ.

He knows you.

Leave a Reply

