Knowing Christ in Psalm 18 (part 2 of 2)

Psalm 18:20-50

The Lord rewarded me according to my righteousness;
According to the cleanness of my hands
He has recompensed me.
For I have kept the ways of the Lord,
And have not wickedly departed from my God.
For all His judgments were before me,
And I did not put away His statutes from me.
I was also blameless before Him,
And I kept myself from my iniquity.
Therefore the Lord has recompensed me according to my righteousness,
According to the cleanness of my hands in His sight.

Who can pray this but Jesus?
Who else has righteousness that is worthy of reward? No one (Isaiah 64:6)
Do you have clean hands? Not me (Isaiah 59:3)
How many have kept the ways of the Lord? Zilch (Romans 3:23)
Has anyone else not wickedly departed from God? Nada (Isaiah 53:6)

Despite all this, the Lord reaches down with His clean hands into our filth and snatches us from utter ruin. But we are still left with a little problem here…

With the merciful You will show Yourself merciful;
With a blameless man You will show Yourself blameless;
With the pure You will show Yourself pure;
And with the devious You will show Yourself shrewd.

OK, but I’m not merciful, I’m not blameless, and I’m about as far from pure as you can get. It sounds like perfection is required, and that ain’t me. That only leaves one option here and it doesn’t sound promising. What hope do I have?

As for God, His way is perfect;
The word of the Lord is proven;
He is a shield to all who trust in Him.
For who is God, except the Lord?
And who is a rock, except our God?

His way is perfect. My way is not. My only hope is that He makes me perfect…

It is God who arms me with strength,
And makes my way perfect….

“He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.” 2 Corinthians 5:21

This is what Christ has purchased for all those who believe. He exchanges His righteousness, His blamelessness, His clean hands for our dirty, wayward ones. He makes us perfect…

“For by one offering He has perfected for all time those who are sanctified.” Hebrews 10:14

Philippians 2:13 says “It is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.” Just look at the work that God is doing for His people…

You will save the humble people
You will light my lamp
The Lord my God will enlighten my darkness
By You I can run against a troop
By my God I can leap over a wall
You have given me the shield of Your salvation
Your right hand has held me up
Your gentleness has made me great
You enlarged my path under me
You have armed me with strength for the battle
You have delivered me from the strivings of the people
You have made me the head of the nations
You lift me up above those who rise against me
You have delivered me from the violent man

Anything good, anything pleasing, anything beautiful in us is because of Jesus. And what God makes perfect, He will protect. He is our rock, our fortress! How does David respond to this glorious news? Like we should…With worship!

The Lord lives!
Blessed be my Rock!
Let the God of my salvation be exalted.
It is God who avenges me,
And subdues the peoples under me;
He delivers me from my enemies.
Therefore I will give thanks to You, O Lord, among the Gentiles,
And sing praises to Your name.
Great deliverance He gives to His king,
And shows mercy to His anointed,
To David and his descendants forevermore.

Amen!
Leave a Reply

