Lord’s Day Twenty-Two

Every Sunday, we will be going through one of the fifty-two Lord’s Days of the Heidelberg Catechism. Written in the year 1563, the Heidelberg still remains a popular confession of faith in many churches to this day. You can find the full text here.

Lord’s Day 22

Question 57: How does “the resurrection of the body”
comfort you?

Answer: Not only will my soul
be taken immediately after this life
to Christ its head,1
but also my very flesh will be
raised by the power of Christ,
reunited with my soul,
and made like Christ’s glorious body.2
1. Luke 23:43; Phil. 1:21-23
2. 1 Cor. 15:20, 42-46, 54; Phil. 3:21; 1 John 3:2

Question 58: How does the article
concerning “life everlasting”
comfort you?

Answer: Even as I already now
experience in my heart
the beginning of eternal joy,1
so after this life I will have
perfect blessedness such as
no eye has seen,
no ear has heard,
no human heart has ever imagine:
a blessedness in which to praise God forever.2
1. Rom. 14:17
2. John 17:3; 1 Cor. 2:9

Raised from the dead? Live forever? This is foolishness to the world (1 Corinthians 1:18), but to faithful followers of Christ? This is the power of God! 1 Corinthians 15:16-20 says:

“For if the dead are not raised, not even Christ has been raised; and if Christ has not been raised, your faith is worthless; you are still in your sins. Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ have perished. If we have hoped in Christ in this life only, we are of all men most to be pitied. But now Christ has been raised from the dead, the first fruits of those who are asleep.”

Even as we already now experience in our hearts the beginning of eternal joy, it’s incomplete. There’s something infinitely better awaiting, but we can’t quite see it yet. 1 Corinthians 13:12 says:

“For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully.”

What is awaiting? Unimaginably perfect blessedness that no eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no human heart has ever imagined. Don’t settle for this world. There’s a better one coming…

“I am an exile, a sojourner
A citizen of some other place
All I’ve seen is just a glimmer in a shadowy mirror
But I know one day we’ll see face to face
My heart is filled with songs of forever
A city that endures, where all is made new
I know I don’t belong here, I’ll never
Call this place my home, I’m just passing through”
-Thrice, “In Exile”

Leave a Reply

