A Refuge from Fear / Knowing Christ in Psalm 27

by M. Todaro


In Knowing Christ we offer what are commonly called “devotions”, though we think it is more helpful to call these posts by their purpose—Knowing Christ. The name also serves as a reminder to all of us to stay focused on the Lord Jesus Christ whether reading the Bible or praying or eating a sandwich (1 Cor. 10:31)… He is the Author and Finisher of our faith (Hebrews 12:1-2). All things are through Him and for Him (Colossians 1:9-20). Jesus explains the Scriptures and makes our hearts burn within us (Luke 24). Compared to knowing Christ Jesus our Lord, everything else is garbage (Philippians 3:7-4:1)… We pray these posts are used to stir our affections for Him by His word and His grace.


THE WORD FIGHTS FEAR

When my daughter is afraid, especially at night when she is trying to sleep, we quote Psalm 27.


Psalm 27:1a

Yahweh is my light and my salvation,
Whom shall I fear? 


Not only is this a great reminder not to fear, it is also a reminder who Yahweh is and what He is like.

Yahweh is my light.
Yahweh is my salvation.

Given these two truths, is there anyone to fear?

Should we fear the dark?
Should we fear the unknown future?
…the present stumbling?
…the past haunting?


Psalm 23:4

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil: for Thou art with me;
Thy rod and Thy staff they comfort me.

Psalm 19:9

The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever.

Psalm 118:6

The LORD is for me; I will not fear,
What can man do to me?

Matthew 10:28

And do not fear those who kill the body, but are unable to kill the soul; but rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.

John 10:27-28

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; and I give eternal life to them, and they shall never perish; and no one shall snatch them out of My hand.


FEAR IS A HEART ISSUE


Psalm 27:3

My heart will not fear; Though war arise against me, In this I am confident.


YAHWEH IS A REFUGE


Psalm 27:1

The LORD is refuge of my life; whom shall I dread?


And yet the Psalm does not end here.

The Psalm doesn’t merely say, “Don’t be afraid. Buck up, little camper! Drink some coffee out of an inspirational mug.”

The Psalms are not emojis.
The Psalms are not positive thinking, smiley gurus.
The Psalms are not “Hakuna Matata”—Thank the Lord!

The Psalms do not merely say, “Have no fear”; but the Word of God actually reshapes and remakes our hearts to truly trust God instead of fearing man.

We are given new desires, flowing from hearts designed to not fear. If you are in Christ, your new inclination is not to fear, but to trust. The Holy Spirit does not birth worrywarts. Instead, a new desire moves in—banishing the demons whispering “fear” and muzzling the wolves preaching false “peace”.

WHAT DESIRE RUNS COUNTER TO FEAR?

In this Psalm, David tells us it is really only one thing. Only one desire of David coincided with a heart that did not fear. Only one desire of David coincided with a heart that takes refuge in the Lord.

What is that desire?

I encourage you to dig in to Psalm 27. Chew it. Pray it. Restate it. Journal it. Trust it.

We will look at that one desire tomorrow.

Until then meditate on this:
The Lord God is your refuge, whom shall you fear?
What is your one desire?

Leave a Reply

